Aquaman Syndrome

Michael Phelps in a 2007 ad for Speedo.

Michael Phelps in a 2007 ad for Speedo.

I’ve been loving every minute of the 2008 Beijing Summer Olympics, but like most folks, I’ve been rendered especially slack-jawed by the performance of Michael Phelps. It’s the Aquaman Syndrome (all me, baby), you just can’t help but be amazed by watching this guy compete. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I’ve got nothing for you here, so move along.

It’s my belief that the Phelpsian achievements during these games will usher in changes to our very language (starting with Phelpsian… my nomination to replace Ruthian as the sports cliched adjective of choice). But even more so, I would like to introduce an entirely new addition to phraseology.

“Dude… I’m like the Michael Phelps of (insert some activity, however mundane, that you are exceedingly skilled in performing).”

For example: “Dude, I’m like the Michael Phelps of purchasing discount tires.”

Or “Dude, I’m like the Michael Phelps of shaking exactly two Advil out of a bottle.”

Or “Dude, I’m like the Michael Phelps of online Texas Hold ‘Em.”

Personally, I’m definitely the Michael Phelps of getting the waitress to leave the entire pitcher of sweet tea at the table. Boo-yah, as they say.

So, gentle blog readers, leave me a comment and release your own inner Phelps for all to enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Aquaman Syndrome

  1. thefreckledspectacle says:

    I love this post! It totally made me giggle. 🙂 Anyway..

    I’m like the Michael Phelps of cooking frozen waffles.

    ~d

  2. Paul says:

    I’m totally the Michael Phelps of swimming…

    dang it — I always mess this kind of stuff up.

  3. DR says:

    Dude, I am the Michael Phelps of changing tires on a bicycle!

  4. Mom says:

    Dude, I’m like the Michael Phelps of decorating for Christmas!

  5. firstpersonshooter says:

    Mom ain’t lyin, neither. I would also nominate her for the Michael Phelps of making delicious peanut butter fudge. And keeping cereal in the freezer.
    But she’s more like the Usain Bolt of making up a bed.
    Dude, I’m like the Tyson Gay of making up my bed. Too soon?

Leave a Reply

